How to Become an IAS Officer

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. It is one of the prestigious posts in the Indian Civil Service. It is an integral part of the Indian Government system. Many aspirants are willing to approach Civil Services. Thus, they require proper guidance. But, they are failing at that point. They face the problem ‘How to become an IAS Officer?’. We have also covered the article on ‘How to Become a Pilot‘. We are providing detailed information regarding ‘How to become an IAS Officer?’.

How to Become an IAS Officer?

Along with IPS & IFS, IAS is one of the best posts in India. Moreover, many aspirants dream to be an IAS officer. Thus, we are looking forward to this enthusiastic field. So, we are ready to provide thorough information regarding this. Let’s have a look at ‘How to become an IAS Officer?’. So, let’s begin this fascinating journey of information. On the other hand, you should be ready for this. Don’t miss this opportunity.

Conducting the Civil Services Exam

  • Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the Indian Civil Services Exam every year.
  • UPSC is a central level body that is responsible for conducting all India-level exams for selecting candidates from various states.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The candidates applying for this exam must be a citizen of India.
  • The candidate must have done the graduation (Any type of stream) from the recognized university.
  • Candidates who are appeared for the final year exam but have not got their results yet are also eligible to apply for the first stage i.e. prelim exam.
  • They should provide their degree certificate while appearing for the UPSC Mains Exam. It is necessary to attach it along with the Mains exam form.

Age Limit

  • The minimum age limit for appearing IAS exam is 21 years.
  • The maximum age limit is 32 years having relaxation for certain categories.
  • On 31st August of the year, The age of the candidate is calculated.
  • It is done when the official notification from UPSC is released. So, keep your eyes on that.

Attempts Allowed with Age Limit

Through which category you are applying for the exam decides your number of maximum attempts. Thus, it is essential to know about it. Those are provided below. So, you should make use of it. Let’s take a look at it.

CategoryNumber of Attempts
General/Open6 (Up to the age of 32 years)
OBC9 (Up to the age of 35 years)
General PwD9 (Up to the age of 32 years)
SC/STNo attempt limit (Up to the age of 37 years)

Selection Procedure/Exam Pattern

Stage – 1 ) Preliminary Exam

  • The paper format is of objective type.
  • This exam takes place generally in June.
  • Candidates who crack the prelim appear for the Mains exam. So, this is a screening test for you people.

Stage – 2 ) Mains Exam

  • The prelim exam qualified candidates can appear for the Mains exam.
  • This exam is generally conducted in September. So, you should look into it attentively.

Stage – 3 ) Interview Round

  • The candidates who crack the mains exam appears for the next personality testing round of Interview.
  • As per the officer’s point of view, the candidate is tested at this stage. Thus, you should prepare well for this.

Types of Jobs for IAS Officers

  • Cabinet Secretary
  • District Magistrate/District Collector
  • Divisional Commissioner
  • Sub Divisional Officer
  • Chief Secretary

Exam Syllabus & Schedule

  • For getting the updated information regarding the IAS syllabus & schedule, refer to the official website of UPSC. (
  • You can get here detailed information related to the previous year’s question papers, cut-offs & other important information related to the IAS exam. It is a mandatory task to do.

In this way, complete your dream regarding this information & fly high in the sky of great success.

Leave a Comment